Adding Isopods to Main Tank

For everything isopod - breeding, keeping, and as clean up crews. Also known as pill bugs and rolly-pollies!
Post Reply
User avatar

Topic author
AwesomeHermit
Posts: 732
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 7:19 pm

Adding Isopods to Main Tank

Post by AwesomeHermit » Wed Apr 10, 2019 3:45 pm

I am planning to add isopods to my tank after my next deep clean. Question is, is it required to change substrate every now and then? Another question, how much substrate would I need to add to the tank at first to make it settle down to about 8 inches?
3 Clypeatus
Goodbye my little E. See you soon.
Crabbing for over two years!

User avatar

GotButterflies
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:56 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:

Re: Adding Isopods to Main Tank

Post by GotButterflies » Wed Apr 10, 2019 4:12 pm

Are you sure that you want to add isopods? :hlol: I only love not cleaning up poop! They are a huge hassle! Mine overpopulate like crazy!!

Do you mean how many inches should you add to make it settle to 8"? If that is the case, then I would add 10-11"
Truly blessed to have incredible creatures, wonderful friends and my amazing family in my life!! I'm very thankful & grateful for all of them! www.thehealthyhermit.com

User avatar

curlysister
Posts: 967
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 3:54 pm
Location: Manitoba, Canada

Re: Adding Isopods to Main Tank

Post by curlysister » Wed Apr 10, 2019 4:14 pm

You don't actually have to deep clean and change substrate. I have had my crabs for 8 1/2 years and have never thrown out the substrate. I have just added more when I upgraded tanks or when it settled and I needed more depth.
"If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went." -Will Rogers

User avatar

GotButterflies
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:56 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:

Re: Adding Isopods to Main Tank

Post by GotButterflies » Wed Apr 10, 2019 4:40 pm

I'm sorry, I suppose I forgot to address that part of your question - great catch Curlysister!

I've never changed my substrate either! I've just added to it.

The only reason you would need to change substrate is if you had a bacterial bloom.
Truly blessed to have incredible creatures, wonderful friends and my amazing family in my life!! I'm very thankful & grateful for all of them! www.thehealthyhermit.com

User avatar

odelayheehoo
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:36 pm
Location: Winterhaven, FL

Re: Adding Isopods to Main Tank

Post by odelayheehoo » Sat Apr 13, 2019 11:21 am

I thought that I might as well post my input on this question as well.

I added some wild isopods to my tank that I collected around my yard (they were kept separate for about a month) that I wanted to put into my crabitat.

Now I have over a thousand crawling all over the place, they wedge themselves in the cracks of the cork bark, crawl inside of the barnacles, and munch down on the cuttlebone. They are almost impossible to stop from breeding, unless you manually remove them from the tanks you will wind up with too many too handle.

I have also observed that the crabs don't like them when they are out so often, they refuse to touch the ground if an isopod group gathers around near them, they also flick their legs and pinchers around when one crawls up onto them.

User avatar

GotButterflies
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:56 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:

Re: Adding Isopods to Main Tank

Post by GotButterflies » Sun Jun 09, 2019 8:46 pm

odelayheehoo wrote:
Sat Apr 13, 2019 11:21 am
I thought that I might as well post my input on this question as well.

I added some wild isopods to my tank that I collected around my yard (they were kept separate for about a month) that I wanted to put into my crabitat.

Now I have over a thousand crawling all over the place, they wedge themselves in the cracks of the cork bark, crawl inside of the barnacles, and munch down on the cuttlebone. They are almost impossible to stop from breeding, unless you manually remove them from the tanks you will wind up with too many too handle.

I have also observed that the crabs don't like them when they are out so often, they refuse to touch the ground if an isopod group gathers around near them, they also flick their legs and pinchers around when one crawls up onto them.
I warned you!!! :hlol: LOL - you still don't have to change the substrate. So what I do, is I have a container near me when I do my weekly water changes. During that time I also do a huge straightening of my tanks. At this time, I take out leaf litter, knock cork bark that I have into the container, and take out cholla pieces I have and knock them into my container. Then, I put them into a larger isopod container I have. Since yours are obtained from the wild, you can release them. I cannot. Mine are difernet species.
Truly blessed to have incredible creatures, wonderful friends and my amazing family in my life!! I'm very thankful & grateful for all of them! www.thehealthyhermit.com

User avatar

Pelagic
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 9:38 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Contact:

Re: Adding Isopods to Main Tank

Post by Pelagic » Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:47 pm

Image
_φ(°-°=) ...... _φ( °-°)/ ...... φ(..)...... φ(..;) ..... φ(´д`o)

User avatar

Motörcrab
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:56 pm
Location: Coal Region in Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: Adding Isopods to Main Tank

Post by Motörcrab » Wed Jun 26, 2019 8:21 pm

We had ours overpopulate rather quickly as well. We went from maybe 200 in our 75 gallon tank to thousands.It seemed like a great idea at first and quickly escalated. It got to the point when I tried to count them in a 6" X 6" area of the tank I couldn't because there were so many. When I would lift a piece of wood hundreds would scatter everywhere! I believe they would devour most of the food I put out before the crabs had a chance to eat.

Like GotButterfiles said you need to keep them in check every week. buy putting them in their own tote.

When I had to redo my tank because of a bacterial bloom several months ago I saved what isopods I could and put them in their own tote. They are still thriving in that tote and am still debating what I want to to do with them. I considered putting some back in the tank but don't want to go through the overpopulation fiasco again.

I'd also like to clearly note. If your isopods were not collected locally they can not be released into the wild. Since they may not be native to your area they may not have natural predators and cause a huge environmental impact possibly disrupting the natural food chain. It could create something similar to Florida's current python problem, but with isopods.
Help Improve Our Resources Section (weblinks)
http://www.hermitcrabassociation.com/ph ... 2&t=119315

Once we get more links the directors will update the resources in a few weeks. Thanks!

Post Reply