How to install hygrometers, thermometers, UTHs?

This is the place to post if you have questions and aren't sure where to ask them! If it relates to one of the sections below, please post there instead.
Post Reply

Topic author
w h a l e b o n e
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2020 7:46 pm
Location: somewhere

How to install hygrometers, thermometers, UTHs?

Post by w h a l e b o n e » Mon Jan 13, 2020 7:29 pm

So I just got an Accurite hygrometer/thermometer. It's the one that has the little stand on the back and is actually meant for a house. I am wondering how to attach it to the inside of my tank. Do I just duct tape it? I'm worried about the crabs eating the tape.

Also, for a UTH (that I don't have yet), do I need to insulate it or anything so it doesn't burn something?

Also, I have two pools, both with dechlorinated freshwater. I'm going to take one out and put Instant Ocean SW in there instead, but one pool is larger. Do you guys think it's more important to have a larger saltwater pool or freshwater pool?

User avatar

Hermiesguardian
Posts: 2708
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:41 pm

Re: How to install hygrometers, thermometers, UTHs?

Post by Hermiesguardian » Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:34 pm

I have my therm/hygro sitting in a plastic soap dish, attached with suction cups.
If you get a UTH that has a self stick side, those cannot be insulated.
Both pools are equally important. Both deep enough for them to fully submerge with a safe way in and out.

Image

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

raising son's dog, Dante. Husky/hound.
Raising daughter's hermit crabs, Shelder, Paras and Derek. Added 2 more of my own (of course) Pete and Stryper. Former mommy to 2 guinea pigs and beloved cat, Nissi

User avatar

curlysister
Posts: 1535
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 3:54 pm
Location: Manitoba, Canada

Re: How to install hygrometers, thermometers, UTHs?

Post by curlysister » Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:59 pm

I just set my thermometer/ hygrometer on the surface of the sand, LOL.
"If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went." -Will Rogers


Topic author
w h a l e b o n e
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2020 7:46 pm
Location: somewhere

Re: How to install hygrometers, thermometers, UTHs?

Post by w h a l e b o n e » Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:36 pm

I've seen both approaches. Personally I'm going for the hanging up because I want lots of space on the floor (I have a 10g I'm currently setting up because my poor only crab is in a KK molting right now and I put in some decorations and it already feels crowded) and I don't want my future crabs messing with it too much


Topic author
w h a l e b o n e
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2020 7:46 pm
Location: somewhere

Re: How to install hygrometers, thermometers, UTHs?

Post by w h a l e b o n e » Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:44 pm

Hermiesguardian wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:34 pm
I have my therm/hygro sitting in a plastic soap dish, attached with suction cups.
If you get a UTH that has a self stick side, those cannot be insulated.
Both pools are equally important. Both deep enough for them to fully submerge with a safe way in and out.

Image

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Also they're about the same depth, just one is bigger.


Scarletfire
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 10:44 am
Location: ON

Re: How to install hygrometers, thermometers, UTHs?

Post by Scarletfire » Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:16 pm

I made a crafting mesh case, attached to a suction cup.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk



Topic author
w h a l e b o n e
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2020 7:46 pm
Location: somewhere

Re: How to install hygrometers, thermometers, UTHs?

Post by w h a l e b o n e » Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:43 pm

Scarletfire wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:16 pm
I made a crafting mesh case, attached to a suction cup.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
That's another good idea! I'm just trying to brainstorm, so I appreciate all the different ideas. Right now it's just sitting in my 10g on the substrate (no hermies in there yet, my current only one is molting and monching and cronching on his exo :3 ) and it turns out I was a little too paranoid about the humidity because it's reading 99%. heh heh


Scarletfire
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 10:44 am
Location: ON

Re: How to install hygrometers, thermometers, UTHs?

Post by Scarletfire » Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:09 pm

Have you calibrated your hydrometer yet?

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk



Topic author
w h a l e b o n e
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2020 7:46 pm
Location: somewhere

Re: How to install hygrometers, thermometers, UTHs?

Post by w h a l e b o n e » Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:03 pm

Scarletfire wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:09 pm
Have you calibrated your hydrometer yet?

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
Okay not gonna lie I kinda didn't yet. It's a digital, and the instructions for calibrating on HCA seemed to apply more for analog ones. Do I still need to calibrate it?

User avatar

wodesorel
Tech Support
Tech Support
Posts: 9258
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:49 am
Location: Leetonia, Ohio
Contact:

Re: How to install hygrometers, thermometers, UTHs?

Post by wodesorel » Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:13 am

w h a l e b o n e wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:03 pm
Okay not gonna lie I kinda didn't yet. It's a digital, and the instructions for calibrating on HCA seemed to apply more for analog ones. Do I still need to calibrate it?
Yep. Even the digital ones can be broken out of the box! They also have a tendency to randomly fail after about a year. I've never had one live longer than two.


Topic author
w h a l e b o n e
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2020 7:46 pm
Location: somewhere

Re: How to install hygrometers, thermometers, UTHs?

Post by w h a l e b o n e » Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:00 pm

wodesorel wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:13 am
Yep. Even the digital ones can be broken out of the box! They also have a tendency to randomly fail after about a year. I've never had one live longer than two.
Oof okay I did it last night and mine was spot on. Fail as in stop working entirely or become inaccurate?

User avatar

wodesorel
Tech Support
Tech Support
Posts: 9258
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:49 am
Location: Leetonia, Ohio
Contact:

Re: How to install hygrometers, thermometers, UTHs?

Post by wodesorel » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:55 pm

Becomes inaccurate, but sometimes the display goes wonky first!

User avatar

scuttlecrusty22
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 11:37 am

Re: How to install hygrometers, thermometers, UTHs?

Post by scuttlecrusty22 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 9:35 am

curlysister wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:59 pm
I just set my thermometer/ hygrometer on the surface of the sand, LOL.
Me too! I started out putting it in a suction soap dish but it kept falling... LOL :hlol:
(Scuttle, Crusty) crabs, (Buster,Ruby) chihuahuas, (Bugs) goat, (Echo) betta fish (Skittles,Sky) parakeets

John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, he gave his only begotten son that whosoever believeth in him should not perish but have everlasting life"

User avatar

curlysister
Posts: 1535
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 3:54 pm
Location: Manitoba, Canada

Re: How to install hygrometers, thermometers, UTHs?

Post by curlysister » Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:27 pm

scuttlecrusty22 wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 9:35 am
Me too! I started out putting it in a suction soap dish but it kept falling... LOL :hlol:
Yeah, I have never had any luck with suction cups. And my crabs just trash my tank all the time anyways, so they may as well just knock it over and drag it around the tank however they want! LOL!
"If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went." -Will Rogers

Post Reply