Adding Substrate over a Molter

This is the place to post if you have questions and aren't sure where to ask them! If it relates to one of the sections below, please post there instead.
Post Reply

Topic author
CrabHarvey
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 7:26 am
Location: Melbourne

Adding Substrate over a Molter

Post by CrabHarvey » Mon May 04, 2020 1:11 am

Hey Guys,

Experiencing my first ever molt (he went down yesterday) and i can still hear him digging around in the sand. Although I've noticed that my substrate (he chose to molt in the play sand) seemed to have gotten shallower.

I made 100% sure it was 6 inch when i put it in but since then (it was maybe a week ago) it seems to have lost an inch or two. I'm not sure if the air left it or something but I'm desperate to get it deep for my little guy. I just looked at the tank this morning and was like "Hang on" then checked and the depth of the sand had dropped.

I've read just add a handful at a time so you don't collapse their tunnel, does any more experienced crabbers have any advice for me? I just want his first molt with me to be as comfortable as possible.

Appreciate your advice!!

User avatar

CrabbyLover77
Posts: 1155
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 11:30 pm
Location: PA

Re: Adding Substrate over a Molter

Post by CrabbyLover77 » Mon May 04, 2020 4:56 am

Hi there!

From what the awesome people on here have told me, it's ok to add 1" of substrate per day. Just make sure you don't pack it down so you don't collapse any tunnels. Hope this helps!

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk

My Pets: 1 Pomeranian, 1 Russian tortoise, fishes/snails(40 gal freshwater aquarium), and 4 hermit crabs.
"Animals are my friends, and I don’t eat my friends".
-George Bernard Shaw

User avatar

aussieJJDude
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4483
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:12 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Adding Substrate over a Molter

Post by aussieJJDude » Mon May 04, 2020 5:54 am

When adding, try to also not move large decor which may disrupt tunnels if you can avoid it.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Crabs || Fish || Shrimp || Snails || Plants || Insects

25G Nano Freshwater || 64G Freshwater Community || 90G Fancy Goldie Pond || 64G Crabitat
I've never had any problems with 'Impulse Buying'... They're just things I forgot I had planned to get || Self Designated 'HCA Pic Fan' 2012+


Topic author
CrabHarvey
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 7:26 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Adding Substrate over a Molter

Post by CrabHarvey » Wed May 06, 2020 12:15 am

thanks for your responses!!!

I've built it up and my other crabs are still going for him. I've moved their food bowl to the other side of the tank and made sure they have all the nutrients they need. The tank temp is good.

Ones getting a little bit close to where i know some part of my molters tunnel is for my liking, i'll keep building up the sand over time but should i move the crab that's digging over him right now?? There are plenty of other places to dig in the tank.

Thanks


gflor119
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 8:59 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Adding Substrate over a Molter

Post by gflor119 » Fri May 22, 2020 10:45 pm

A question regarding tunnels and such, if a hermit crab digs a tunnel, sleeps, then leaves and eats/plays/burrows a new hole I usually have an impulse to just cover up the hole since they usually never return back to the same one. Is that bad of me to do? Like should I just leave it uncovered or is it fine for me to move substrate over it so that it's all even? Any advice is appreciated. Thank You
Substrate is Eco Earth 1/2 - 6 inch incline
2 hermit crabs

User avatar

curlysister
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1924
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 3:54 pm
Location: Manitoba, Canada

Re: Adding Substrate over a Molter

Post by curlysister » Fri May 22, 2020 11:09 pm

Your sub should be at least 6 inches everywhere in the tank. You can have an incline, but the shallowest end should still be 6 inches (or three times as deep as your largest crab, whichever is deeper).
"If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went." -Will Rogers


gflor119
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 8:59 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Adding Substrate over a Molter

Post by gflor119 » Sat May 23, 2020 10:49 am

Oh! Okay I see. Well they aren't very big yet and they do dig down pretty deep. I think I will change the layout of my tank to see how that works out.

Post Reply