Newbie here. Should I dig for my crabbie?

This is the place to post if you have questions and aren't sure where to ask them! If it relates to one of the sections below, please post there instead.

Topic author
Stefunkie

Newbie here. Should I dig for my crabbie?

Post by Stefunkie » Thu Mar 19, 2015 7:02 am

I am 5 days into owning hermit crabs, and I have some concerns. I have a 10 gallon aquarium with eco earth and CALCIUM SAND as substrate, approximately 4 inches deep. I have read so much yesterday about how calcium sand is bad for the crabbies. I have 2 PP. One is tiny, about the size of a quarter, and he has gone missing. Now I know the little guy is probably stressed, but he was really active for a couple days. My dilemma is this... should I dig in the calcium sand to make sure he isn't suffocating some where?
Also, could I get some suggestions for my tank? The humidity stays between 75-80 and the temp is consistently 72.
Thanks!

kornchaser

Re: Newbie here. Should I dig for my crabbie?

Post by kornchaser » Thu Mar 19, 2015 7:38 am

Calcium sand needs replaced ASAP indefinitely, the need is significantly increased if a crab is under even if that means digging them up. A good replacement is those 50lb quickrete play sand bags from Lowes or Home Depot, that sand is perfectly safe. Or you can stick with EE, both safe and both preffered by tons and tbh EE is lighter than 50lbs
Although a few people from Texas described bugs in their quickrete idk where you're located at but you may need to watch out for that.