List of Questions for Hermit Crab Care

This is the place to post if you have questions and aren't sure where to ask them! If it relates to one of the sections below, please post there instead.

Topic author
BubbleKnot

List of Questions for Hermit Crab Care

Post by BubbleKnot » Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:47 am

Hello!
I am a college student writing an essay on hermit crab care in captivity, and would like to hear the opinions of multiple people who have been caring for hermit crabs for a long time or have done enough research to understand what hermit crabs need to stay happy and healthy in captivity. Please feel free to pick and choose what questions you want to answer, and to reference data or use personal experience when answering.

1. What level of humidity do hermit crabs need in their enclosure and why?

2. Do hermit crabs change shells and, if yes, how many shells should be available per crab?

3. How do hermit crabs molt and is a high substrate level needed for the molting process?

4. Should painted shells on hermit crabs be supported? Why or why not?

5. Where do pet stores such as Petco or Pet Supermarket receive the hermit crabs they sell?

6. In your opinion, do pet stores and beach gift shops provide the correct care and habitat information to customers that will keep their hermit crab happy and healthy?

7. Are hermit crabs meant to be kept alone, with one other crab or in groups?

8. How much space is needed per hermit crab and why?

9. How long do hermit crabs live and how did you find out?

10. Are there any facts or information you discovered throughout the years you have cared for hermit crabs, that you found surprising or vital for hermit crab care in captivity?

Thank you

DevilNDisguise

Re: List of Questions for Hermit Crab Care

Post by DevilNDisguise » Fri Oct 18, 2019 10:33 am