changed substrate now molting?

This forum is where you discuss issues relating to molting hermit crabs, including pre- and post-molting issues. If you are having a molting emergency please post in the Emergency Forum.
Locked
User avatar

Topic author
nixxscott
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 12:33 pm

changed substrate now molting?

Post by nixxscott » Mon Feb 08, 2016 12:37 pm

I got my guy a new tank and changed all his substrate which allowed it to be much deeper. He dug down the first night and has not come back up. Is this normal? Do you think new, deeper substrate has gotten him to start a molt? I hear him once in awhile move around a little but he has not come up for about 5 days.

thanks!

User avatar

AutumnHermie
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:40 pm
Location: Avondale, Arizona

Re: changed substrate now molting?

Post by AutumnHermie » Mon Feb 08, 2016 1:18 pm

I would just kind of go by "crabs gotta do what crabs gotta do" :)
Owner of 12 PP's , 4 Blue's, and 2 straw's.

User avatar

Topic author
nixxscott
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 12:33 pm

Re: changed substrate now molting?

Post by nixxscott » Mon Feb 08, 2016 1:23 pm

Ok I figured since I hear him once in awhile he must be ok


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar

Renroc
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 6:42 pm
Location: NSW Australia

Re: changed substrate now molting?

Post by Renroc » Mon Feb 08, 2016 5:45 pm

Totally normal. He is probably enjoying digging at last. He may not be molting. Keep putting food out and check it. He may well be coming up at night.


Still in denial I've managed to pull this off.
Crazy crab lady with 2 males raised in captivity and one adult male. Also 5 females and a tiny male that needed rehoming. I've taken in them in to add to my breeding program.

Locked