ISO

This forum is where you discuss issues relating to molting hermit crabs, including pre- and post-molting issues. If you are having a molting emergency please post in the Emergency Forum.

Topic author
MercifulRabbit

ISO

Post by MercifulRabbit » Sat Mar 02, 2019 8:58 pm

My hermit crab has been surface molting, and has eaten most of his exoskeleton, and has began moving around the 2L isolation bottle I have now. I read on The Crab Street Journal that when they start moving around you should move them to an isolation tank.
I have a tank and extra play sand I could use for this purpose, but I’m not sure if that would stress him out too much was . Don’t wanna lose another crab :(
If someone could help me out, I’d be very grateful. :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

hyelah1990

Re: ISO

Post by hyelah1990 » Sat Mar 02, 2019 10:32 pm

First off, I am no expert!! But I had a flood and had to dig two crabbies up. I put them in ISO until they were up moving around. As soon as they were up I gave them a dip in the pool and put them back in the main tank.

soilentgringa

Post by soilentgringa » Sat Mar 02, 2019 10:58 pm

You’re already isolating the crab in the bottle. If the crab is up, moving around, eating and hardened, you can place it in the freshwater dish to rinse off any remnants of the molting scent and let it do it’s thing.

curlysister
Administrator
Administrator

Post by curlysister » Sat Mar 02, 2019 11:29 pm

If your crab surface molted, there is likely something not right in the tank. If you would like us to help you trouble shoot, fill in the emergency template and post it.
"If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went." -Will Rogers

Topic author
MercifulRabbit

Post by MercifulRabbit » Sun Mar 03, 2019 3:46 pm

curlysister wrote:If your crab surface molted, there is likely something not right in the tank. If you would like us to help you trouble shoot, fill in the emergency template and post it.