Eyes Fused Together After Molt???

This forum is where you discuss issues relating to molting hermit crabs, including pre- and post-molting issues. If you are having a molting emergency please post in the Emergency Forum.

Topic author
Hokiekell

Eyes Fused Together After Molt???

Post by Hokiekell » Wed Dec 14, 2011 8:58 pm

I am new to owning hermies but in a few short months, I am officially obsessed!

All the crabs I brought home back in September have molted successfully except for one...he is alive but his eyes seem to be fused together. He doesn't dig to sleep anymore and barely moves. I feel so bad for him. Right after molting he was very active but he has gone downhill fast. He is still eating and drinking but not as much as he used to and his activity level is next to nothing. I bought a small tank to separate him from the rest because he is smaller and I didn't want the rest to attack him. I also bought two more hermies about the same size and put them all together so he wouldn't be alone but I'm still worried about him. One of the new crabs is in the beginning stage of molting (he is regrowing a missing claw!!) so I had to move this new molting friend into an ISO tank temporarily so he still has one of the new crabs as a buddy.

Does anyone have any suggestions about what to do with him?

Liam

Re: Eyes Fused Together After Molt???

Post by Liam » Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:13 pm

Some pictures would be great.

wodesorel
Tech Support
Tech Support

Post by wodesorel » Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:12 am

Their eyes can get stuck together after baths, but it also happens when they are extremely weak. Did he have a normal molt? Could he still be recovering post-molt and that's why he's not moving around much? What are his tank conditions like?
Want to see all my crazy pets? @waywardwaifs on Instagram

coxbrea151

Post by coxbrea151 » Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:06 am

With the activity change, I've heard that sometimes hermit crabs personality changes after molting.