ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Please post here if you are having a crab care emergency! Use a real subject and not just "HELP!"
Locked

Topic author
HermitCrabRookie
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 2:51 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contact:

ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Post by HermitCrabRookie » Sun Mar 29, 2015 1:47 pm

Hello my old/iso 20g tank broke and I am having a hard time maintaining proper conditions for the 5 molters that are down. Can I move them into my 50g with my other 5 hermies?
8 PP;
Hermie, Dexter, Squirmy, Lucky, Scary, Griffin, Chocolate, Jimmy

User avatar

HugsForHermits
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 6:36 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Post by HugsForHermits » Sun Mar 29, 2015 3:09 pm

Hi, I have moved a molter before. What I did though was very very carefully gathered him and his surrounding sand/coco fiber and moved the whole ball with him in the middle of it into a hole that I had dug in the other tank to fit it. It worked because I was able to gather him and the substrate put it into a bowl and move to the other tank without disturbing him.( almost like transplanting a plant with the root ball? ) One of the risks you run is damaging his body depending what stage of molt he is in. Their new exoskeleton is very soft and fragile until it hardens is prone to damage, punctures or even breaking off. I don't post here often, and someone else may have another view on this. If you want another opinion I am sure more people will post soon. A second opinion is always a good thing. How badly broken is the 20 gal?


Topic author
HermitCrabRookie
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 2:51 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contact:

Re: ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Post by HermitCrabRookie » Sun Mar 29, 2015 3:34 pm

the end is badly cracked and seems to have gotten worse over the last week. I have been able to put time into trying to keep the conditions good cause I have been laid off from work the past 3 weeks but I go back to work tomorrow so I wont be able to work on it near as much
8 PP;
Hermie, Dexter, Squirmy, Lucky, Scary, Griffin, Chocolate, Jimmy

User avatar

HugsForHermits
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 6:36 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Post by HugsForHermits » Sun Mar 29, 2015 3:46 pm

I wonder if it can be just taped up temporarily maybe some duct tape for a quick fix. Is it staying humid and warm inside? ( SILICONE sealer would be ideal but if its just a temporary quick fix duct tape might also work) hmmm I think if it were me, I would take everything that is not needed in the tank out to reduce any pressure that might be on the walls esp. If I were worried it might bust open then I would take very strong tape, duct tape maybe and go around the tank to help give it support to hold it together. maybe even some rope. I know it sounds weird. But if you just want it to stay together long enough for your molters to finish their molts and if you can keep the humidity and warmth in there then I should think it would be fine. Then when your hermies are done their molts you can Junk or repair the tank, idk how bad it looks.

User avatar

wodesorel
Tech Support
Tech Support
Posts: 9708
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:49 am
Location: Leetonia, Ohio
Contact:

Re: ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Post by wodesorel » Sun Mar 29, 2015 3:58 pm

I'd patch it over with a thick packing tape and wait it out. It sounds like the tank is trashed either way, so leaving them in there would be the best option. A couple of cracks shouldn't really be affecting their conditions that much, so that is more of a worry. Some extra air flow may drop humidity and temp a bit, but a thin crack shouldn't be letting in that much air. (And if it did, the packing tape would seal it.)
Want to see all my crazy pets? @waywardwaifs on Instagram

User avatar

HugsForHermits
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 6:36 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Post by HugsForHermits » Sun Mar 29, 2015 4:02 pm

I agree with Wode. :clap:


Topic author
HermitCrabRookie
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 2:51 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contact:

Re: ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Post by HermitCrabRookie » Sun Mar 29, 2015 4:42 pm

i will duct tape it, and hopefully they will be up soon.

dont know if one made it (claire, medium) long ride home from florida, and has been under for almost 3 months.

if there under 6 inches of sub and die will there still be a noticeable smell?
8 PP;
Hermie, Dexter, Squirmy, Lucky, Scary, Griffin, Chocolate, Jimmy


Topic author
HermitCrabRookie
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 2:51 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contact:

Re: ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Post by HermitCrabRookie » Sun Mar 29, 2015 5:11 pm

good news and timing i went to tape the tank and my smallest (griifin) was up from his molt, so the conditions underground must be better i gave him a quick bath since he just molted then put him in the 50g
8 PP;
Hermie, Dexter, Squirmy, Lucky, Scary, Griffin, Chocolate, Jimmy

User avatar

HugsForHermits
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 6:36 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Post by HugsForHermits » Sun Mar 29, 2015 5:50 pm

Awesome!! That is a relief! As for the smell... I am not sure I've only had one die and it was a rescue in desperate need of a new shell and molt. Like in 5 minutes of getting home he changed shells and dug down. I never did smell it until I peeked on him a while later ( like a month or so later I should say). I had gently uncovered him a little and then I smelled the fishy smell. :( But some older hermies and larger ones can take a couple months or longer to molt. Might give it some more time since you had one come up in good shape! :clap: -hugs-


hermieluv1
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 1:48 pm

Re: ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Post by hermieluv1 » Mon Mar 30, 2015 4:29 am

Just curious why you have so many in iso.

User avatar

KellyCrabbieLove
Posts: 2635
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 9:51 am
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Post by KellyCrabbieLove » Mon Mar 30, 2015 9:17 am

hermieluv1 wrote:Just curious why you have so many in iso.
I was curious as well.
#1 rule of crabbing - crabs are weird.
#2 rule of crabbing - see above

User avatar

HugsForHermits
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 6:36 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Post by HugsForHermits » Mon Mar 30, 2015 4:39 pm

KellyCrabbieLove wrote: I was curious as well.
I am guessing because some people believe in putting molters in iso as an extra precaution and to ensure they are not disturbed. 8)

User avatar

wodesorel
Tech Support
Tech Support
Posts: 9708
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:49 am
Location: Leetonia, Ohio
Contact:

Re: ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Post by wodesorel » Mon Mar 30, 2015 5:01 pm

I thought he upgraded his tank, so the 50 is the new tank and the 20 gallon was his original tank where the crabs went down to molt before he had the new tank set up?
Want to see all my crazy pets? @waywardwaifs on Instagram


Topic author
HermitCrabRookie
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 2:51 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contact:

Re: ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Post by HermitCrabRookie » Mon Mar 30, 2015 5:28 pm

correct wode

once the upgrade was complete from 20g to 50g. there was 5 molters down. so im trying to keep that tank going while also keeping my 50g going. which the 50g is going great the temp and humidity stay consistant running 6 inches of sub atm but thinking of bumping it up to 8
8 PP;
Hermie, Dexter, Squirmy, Lucky, Scary, Griffin, Chocolate, Jimmy

User avatar

HugsForHermits
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 6:36 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: ISO tank broke w/ 5 molters can I move them?

Post by HugsForHermits » Mon Mar 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Nice! * Dreams of Upgrading to larger tank * :cloud9:

Locked