Curious about my hermits behavior after changing shells

Where we discuss the behavior of our hermit crabs, as in fights, pecking orders, shell swaps, etc. Please post all naked-crab posts in the Emergency forum.

Topic author
Maddiegotcrabs

Curious about my hermits behavior after changing shells

Post by Maddiegotcrabs » Sat Sep 21, 2019 2:41 pm

Hello! :newb: Here

Just recently joined HCA because it’s super hard finding a lot of information about hermits online. Hoping this will make things a lot easier as I’m also fairly new to having hermits myself and don’t know a whole lot other than the general information provided on google.

So my hermit Turbo just changed shells about 2 days ago for the first time since I got him almost a year ago now. Although having him that long I haven’t gotten too familiar with his personality because he’s spent a lot of that time buried in the substrate and mainly coming out once we’ve all fallen asleep. Since changing his shell he’s been out during the day and I’ve noticed him going to the water and then back to his old shell and has been hovering over it and digging about inside it for hours. I’m really curious as to what this behavior possibly means.. anyone else seen this before or know what he could be doing?

:scratch:

Hermiesguardian

Re: Curious about my hermits behavior after changing shells

Post by Hermiesguardian » Sat Sep 21, 2019 9:48 pm

Welcome! They just like changing shells sometimes. Sounds like he's not sure about the new shell and may go back to the old one.
raising son's dog, Dante. Husky/hound.
Raising daughter's hermit crabs, Shelder, Paras and Derek. Added 2 more of my own (of course) Pete and Stryper. Former mommy to 2 guinea pigs and beloved cat, Nissi

curlysister
Administrator
Administrator

Post by curlysister » Sun Sep 22, 2019 10:43 am

Welcome to HCA! You are correct, it is a fabulous source of information for everything you need to know about crabs!