Life spans

For topics relating to crab care that do not fit into the other categories.

Topic author
Jason 00

Life spans

Post by Jason 00 » Thu Feb 11, 2016 6:19 pm

All of my crabs at present are PP's and are all heathy at this time ( of which I am very grateful ). I have had little experience with the more exotic crabs other than reading about them. Alot of material states that the lifespan of a Strawberry is just 1 to 5 years but a PP could be as much as 30 if cared for correctly. Is this actually the case? Thank you.
Last edited by Jason 00 on Thu Feb 11, 2016 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

orangeinecrab

Re: Life spans

Post by orangeinecrab » Thu Feb 11, 2016 6:38 pm

Jason 00 wrote:All of my crabs at present are PP's and are all heathy at this time ( of which I am very grateful ). I have had little experience with the more exotic crabs other than reading about them. Alot of material states that the lifespan of a Strawberry is just 1 to 5 years but a PP could be as much as 30 if cared for correctly. Is this actually the case? Thanks you.
Strawberries are much more delicate than pp's and from what I have heard do usually only live that long but there are exceptions. In the wild strawberries would live longer but they are hard to keep in captivity.
Proud Carer of 4 Crabs: Pepi (F), Victoria/Victor (IDK), Georgie (M) & BIG J (F) and two more newbies!

Topic author
Jason 00

Post by Jason 00 » Thu Feb 11, 2016 6:54 pm

Thank you very much for your reply. :)
I would love to get the chance to care for an exotic but I would want to do my best to care for it even more so than I do the crabs I have now, so it could live it's full life span. Probably drive my wife crazy in the process :)

orangeinecrab

Post by orangeinecrab » Thu Feb 11, 2016 7:43 pm

Jason 00 wrote:Thank you very much for your reply. :)