Recommendations from other groups?

For topics relating to crab care that do not fit into the other categories.

Topic author
Kydra

Recommendations from other groups?

Post by Kydra » Mon Nov 11, 2019 2:45 am

Just a quick introduction: I am a Registered Nurse and happened to bring home two hermit crabs from vacation. I, of course, received terrible guidelines for their care and have corrected everything to HCA standards with both plus one adopted crab in a 20 gallon long. This was an upgrade from their original mesh cage, then 10 gallon, now 20 gallon long with plans to upgrade again with adoption in mind.

So far, this has been an interesting and rewarding trial and error learning experience. I am grateful to have found this forum and care guides here so the three that I have are currently happy and healthy. Thanks to the HCA and all members here!

I did want to start a conversation RE other respected hermit crab groups and any differentiations from the care recommended here.

So my question(s) is/are for those that have been or are currently members of multiple hermit crab groups. All are, hopefully, striving to give the best advice possible for the sake of the hermit crabs health and well-being.

Without naming other groups or responding negatively, I am truly curious about care that differs from this forum (HCA).

I initially oversaturated my substrate and read one group recommending to leave substrate dry. I see how this may have been helpful for me initially, but also wonder about struggling with humidity and digging/molting in dry substrate. My understanding is that as one gets humidity adequate, the substrate would then be moist enough for proper molting. I do see how this could be a beneficial recommendation for a beginner. One question would be if anybody here goes with dry substrate during setup and how that has worked out?