New and improved crabitat

This is a forum dedicated to Hermit Crab Association members posting pictures of their crabs and crabitats.

Topic author
Candicesmith23

New and improved crabitat

Post by Candicesmith23 » Wed Dec 04, 2019 12:33 am

Hello all!!

I am new to the crabby world! I recently bought a used 110 gallon tank for $50!!! It’s still a work in progressImageImageImage

So far I’ve transferred 5 of my 8 crabs to the new digs and I’m still waiting on the final 3 to make their appearance above ground (they are hiding out in the old 20 gallon tank)
Any ideas on things I should add or change? Thank you Image

ImageImageImage

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last edited by Candicesmith23 on Wed Dec 04, 2019 12:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

CrabbyLover77

Re: New and improved crabitat

Post by CrabbyLover77 » Wed Dec 04, 2019 2:38 am

Oh wow, what a good deal for a tank! I bet your crabbies are going to have a good time in there.
I'm curious about the lights. Are they hanging inside the tank? If so, I would think the high humidity might short them out quickly. Also, if one or both is giving off heat, I would worry about the hermies being able to climb onto the lamp and burn it's little legs. Those domes can get pretty hot (I use one for my tortoise). So you might want to keep them out of the tank above a lid if you can. Also, heat lamps can zap humidity quickly, so you'll want to keep an eye on that.
I can't tell from the pics, but is there an easy way in and out of the pool aquariums? You'll want to put some kind of mesh, egg crate, Cholla wood, ramp, etc in the pools that makes it easy to climb out so they don't get stuck in there.
I'm also not sure from the pics, but do you have a lid to make sure the crabbies don't escape? (Also to keep humidity in).
Great job and I hope the other guys come up soon so you can transfer them in!

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk