Nervous about first molt

Where to post and/or get advice about your molting hermit crab(s). Includes pre-molting, molting, and post-molting issues.

Topic author
hermitnewb

Nervous about first molt

Post by hermitnewb » Wed May 29, 2013 3:57 pm

I am new to crabs and I have 6 and I am nervous about the first molt. I have read the signs to look out for and I have looked up photos of molting. I still am not sure what to expect.If I go to bed and one decides to molt what will I wake up to? Will the crab be underground and will I see a hole where he went? Will he take his shell under with him? Will he be fully under, so I see one less crab?I have one crab who is my second smallest and switched into the second largest shell and went into the hut and came out only to shell shop again and was looking at even bigger shells, and then went back in and has been in the hut for a day and a half. Would my crab molt inside a shell?I have had these crabs for 1 week only and they all came together. I go two on the 22nd, and two days later I went back and got the other 4. They are E's and one is large size, the rest are medium to small/medium. I do have an ISO tank but I have not put anyone in it.To answer the questions1) How long have you had your crabs and how long have you been caring for this particular crab in distress? I have had these crabs for 1 week2) What size is your tank and what kind of lid do you have? 20 gal tank with a cage lid3) What are you using for heat? Please be specific and include fixture type, watt or mat size and where the heat source is mounted. UTH mounted on the back near the bottom. 4) What kind of substrate do you use in your tank and at what depth? Is it dry or damp and sand castle consistency? toys r u play sand mixed with eco earth, damp sand castle consistency, 6 inches. 5) Do you dechlorinate your fresh water and if so, with what product? Do you offer aquarium salt water in addition to fresh water? Again, what product? I use bottled water for fre