Hunting or Missing?

This forum is where you discuss issues relating to molting hermit crabs, including pre- and post-molting issues. If you are having a molting emergency please post in the Emergency Forum.

Topic author
scuttlecrusty22

Hunting or Missing?

Post by scuttlecrusty22 » Fri Feb 22, 2019 9:57 am

My crab has been digging for about 4 days and a few days ago he finally stopped digging and I think he is molting. This is my first time with a molting crab so i'm kind of worried there is 4'' of substrate on the shallow end and 5'' to 6'' at the deep end. He isn't fully submerged in the sand but his shell is the only thing exposed. I have some climbing burlap in my tank and he has dug underneath it, made a tunnel and buried himself. My other crab's favorite place to hangout in under the burlap hide and I'm afraid he will find Crusty and eat him :cry: He seems to be digging in the same direction as Crusty is laying. I always provide lots of options for them to eat including: shrimp, blood-worms, bluberries, carrots, spinach, krill, fish flakes, popcorn. I feel like that is enough variety to keep Scuttle from eating Crusty but I don't know what to do. Should I keep my eye on Scuttle and make sure he doesn't dig for Crusty??? I'm afraid Scuttle might need to molt as well so then what? Does Scuttle just miss his little pal or does he want to try and eat crab? :( Thank you so much for replies

:huh::
(Scuttle, Crusty) crabs, (Buster,Ruby) chihuahuas, (Bugs) goat, (Echo) betta fish (Skittles,Sky) parakeets

John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, he gave his only begotten son that whosoever believeth in him should not perish but have everlasting life"

Hermiesguardian

Re: Hunting or Missing?

Post by Hermiesguardian » Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:23 am