Screen Lid vs. Glass Lid

This is where you discuss the conditions of your crabitat -- temperature, humidity, substrate, decorating, etc.

Screen vs. Glass

screen
50%
glass
50%

Total votes: 26

Topic author

Screen Lid vs. Glass Lid

Post by Guest » Sun Nov 04, 2007 3:53 pm

Which do you prefer screen or glass and why? What size tank do you have? Also what is the highest wattage of heat bulb that a glass lid can withstand (sitting directly on top)
Last edited by Guest on Sun Nov 04, 2007 4:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Rhoney

Post by Rhoney » Sun Nov 04, 2007 3:54 pm

i liek screen lid becuase on hot days you cna just uncover it and on cold days jsut put something over it.
Currently No Hermit Crabs until I am out of college, but I have over 5 years of crabbing experience, and much advice to offer :)

Topic author

Post by Guest » Sun Nov 04, 2007 4:11 pm

I didn't vote, my lid is neither. You needs a solid lid to keep in humidity, whether that be a screen lid that has some sort of covering, like plastic wrap or a glass lid.
My lid is a modified partial screen lid. My tank was originally used for snakes so it's got a solid wood section with a hinged, lockable door and then 2 screen sections. I cut a hole in the end screen section to let my sunglo lightbulb poke through, since it's longer than my light fixture, then I cut out a section of the screen to create a second hole for accessing the tank. I then took some plastic posterboard stuff and cut it to fit on top of the screen and cut a hole in it too for the light. I put some hinges on another piece and made a plastic door to cover the opening that I had cut in the screen. The middle section of screen I covered with more of the plastic stuff leaving a gap just large enough for my moonglo lights to fit.