Temperature drops at night

This is where you discuss the conditions of your crabitat -- temperature, humidity, substrate, decorating, etc.

Topic author
macx

Temperature drops at night

Post by macx » Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:48 pm

Hello, my name is Max and I am pretty new to hermit crabs, anyways I have a decent 10 gallon tank setup, sat and freshwater, lots of variety in food, fresh fruit , pellets and vegitables. I have plenty of hiding places and moss. My substrate is around 5" deep. There are also lots of extra shells and climbing toys for my little guys. I have noticed that during the night the temperature drops to around 72-74, I have a special reptile light for the daytime but I turn it off at night I also have an uth(under tank heater) on one side of the tank. My question is is it okay that the temperature goes this low at night? The thermometer and hygrometer are in the middle so I guess the side with the heat pad will be atleast 77. The temperature is usually 84-89 during the day and never goes lower than 82, humidity stays at least at 80. Do I need to do something to keep the tank warmer? I don't want to keep the tank's light on because I think it will bug the crabs during the night ( I have only seen them eating and coming out of hiding places mostly at night when the lights are out)
Thanks in advance!

daws409

Re: Temperature drops at night

Post by daws409 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:59 pm

Hi! Welcome to HCA! So minimum tank conditions are 80/80 (temp/humidity). Temps below 75 will cause them to slow down and become sluggish. Also, temps above 85 will cause them to overheat and possibly ditch their shells. I personally keep my tanks around 83 during the day and 78 at night.