Repeat Streaker

Where to post and/or get advice if your hermit crab has dropped its seashell. If your crab has molted AND gone naked, please post in the Molting forum.

ashdawn14

Repeat Streaker

Post by ashdawn14 » Thu Apr 04, 2013 1:45 pm

1. I have been crabbing for almost 2 years. I got Althea about 7 months ago.2. 60g tank with glass lid3. I have 2 zoomed 24w heat mats that I use in the winter, mounted on back and size to make a V in one corner. They are currently on. I also have an Exo Terro 30W tropical UVA/UVB lamp that is on during the day year round, mounted on top of the tank.4. My sub is 70/30 EE/sand. It stays at "sandcastle" consistency beneath the surface and the very very top is usually just a little drier than sand castle.5. I use API dechlorinator and IO for salt water. 6. They eat a wide variety including Beechnut baby foods (veggies and fruits), shrimp, fish, nuts, chicken, fresh fruits and veggies, peanut butter, eggs, and foods from HCA. They also have moss, cholla, a calcium mix of cuttle bone egg shells and calci sand, and worm Castings available at all times in the tank.7. I only bathe new crabs prior to iso or when I have the occasional post molt bullying. I mist the tank a few times a week, but try to avoid directly misting the crabs, and only handle rarely and when necessary.8. Current temp/humidity is 80/83. Temp ranges from77 to 82 and humidity from 78 to 83. Althea was interrupted at the end of her last molt a few weeks ago. I isoed her and she immediately buried back down, but came up pale and shell less later that week. I gave her some more shell options and she immediately reshelled. Aside from that, she was acting totally normal, so after several days, I put her back in the main tank. She swapped shells a few more times then seemed to settle on one, which she has been in for about a week. Other than the shell swapping, she has been her normal self. She is an E, so she is out and about during the day a lot, but she has never inter