Found hermit in hotel laundry room

This is the place to post if you have questions and aren't sure where to ask them! If it relates to one of the sections below, please post there instead.

Topic author
crabbymomofthree

Found hermit in hotel laundry room

Post by crabbymomofthree » Sun Sep 01, 2019 7:00 pm

I found an abandoned hermit, pretty big, in the hotel laundry room, in small cage dried up sponge, so I I took it, I placed in tupperware with spag moss, healing foods, egg, with shell and cuttlebone, added some primed water, later on a few hours later I drove with family 4 hours home, now I am home, do I place this new crab in a 29 gallon, or let him or her destress in tupperware with foods and moss?

I have not set up my 29 gallon yet as my 3 new tiny ones from NJ beach last month, went under in a 10 gallon 2-5 days after I got them ( I was a newbie) and I was waiting till they all came back up.

New new rescue crab, well sadly, he also lost 1 limb today.

I do have a 3 gallon tank on hand, I can set that up as a isolation tank if need be tomorrow, with Eco and play sand, small heater I bought prior, hygrometer and small dishes of water: healing foods, and primed salt/and primed tap water. Please advise.
Last edited by crabbymomofthree on Mon Sep 02, 2019 8:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

PinchersAndShells

Re: Found hermit in hotel laundry r]oom

Post by PinchersAndShells » Sun Sep 01, 2019 7:09 pm

Wow! I can’t believe someone would just leave him like that.
If I were in your situation I would isolate him until you can get the 29 gallon set up, keep on top of the healing foods and bring his temperature and humidity up to standard. Then when the 29 is setup you can put him in there, and add in your small ones as they come up from molting. Make sure he also has a spot to hide in the isolation! It’s important for him to de-stress.
4 PPs + 1 E = Dusty, Momo, Seasalt, & Elvis
Captive Bred PP = Randy
75 Gallon Crabitat | Crabbing Since 8.11.2015