Unfriendly or Unhappy Crab?

Archived information regarding hermit crab behavior.

Topic author

Post by Guest » Wed Sep 14, 2005 5:30 pm

I am new to hermies. I got my first PP a month ago at a yard sale. She was giving away the crab and aquarium and I just had to have it. He was in 1/2" coarse gravel with food dish and water dish and no top on the tank. I read all about hermies and changed out the gravel for play sand 1" overall the bottom of the tank and up to 3" deep on one side. Then with coconut fiber on the other half of the tank and added a grapevine branch for him to climb on. I added a top and an undertank heater and now his temp is 75 degrees, humidity between 60-70%. Next I adopted 3 buddies for him approximately the same size (about a week ago). The three new hermies were very active the first couple days, switching shells, eating lots and exploring all over. Then they all buried themselves in the coconut fiber and I never see them any more. And sadly my original guy (Spike), doesn't seem to like the new guys. In fact, he hangs upside down from the grapevine log all the time. Not moving, not coming down, not eating, not even burying himself or anything. I have never seen Spike eat, but assumed since he is still alive he must eat sometime. I am worried about him. What should I do? Shouldn't he interact with the other crabs? Or at least not hang upside down from the log day after day? His new habitat is intentionally warmer and more humid than he arrived in. But he didn't used to just hang upside down till the new tankmates arrived. Sure wish I knew what to do, since it all began bbecause I wanted to give him a good home and provide everything a happy hermie should have.

Topic author
KittyCaller

Post by KittyCaller » Wed Sep 14, 2005 5:38 pm